Graham Swift

‘This is Graham Swift at his impressive best’ Times Literary Supplement

On a midsummer’s night, Paula lies awake, Mike, her husband of twenty-five years, asleep beside her, her two teenage children, Nick and Kate, sleeping in nearby rooms. The next day, she knows, will define all their lives.

As morning approaches, Paula recalls the years before and after her children were born. Her story is both a celebration of love possessed and a moving acknowledgement of the fear of loss, the fragilities, illusions and secrets on which even our most intimate sense of who we are can rest.

‘Paula talks the way that people actually talk . . . this is part of Swift’s overwhelming honesty as a writer: he writes the way that life goes’ Anne Enright, Guardian

‘The rhythms of long-term partnership become the rhymes of the narrative itself . . . a subtle picture emerges of how coupledom is deepened by parenthood’ Robert MacFarlane, Sunday Times


Genre: Fiction
ISBN: 978033051818501
Published: 01/04/2010

Graham Swift

Graham Swift

Graham Swift was born in 1949 and is the author of nine acclaimed novels and a collection of short stories. With Waterland he won the Guardian Fiction Prize (1983), and with Last Orders the Booker Prize (1996); both novels have since been made into films. His most recent novel is Wish You Were Here. Graham Swift’s work has appeared in over thirty languages.

View author