Shelter

Jung Yun

You never know what goes on behind closed doors. 

Kyung Cho owns a house that he can't afford. Despite his promising career as a tenure-track professor, he and his wife, Gillian, have always lived beyond their means. Now their bad decisions are catching up with them, and Kyung is anxious for his family's future.

A few miles away, his parents, Jin and Mae, live in the town's most exclusive neighbourhood. Growing up, they gave Kyung every possible advantage - expensive hobbies, private tutors - but they never showed him kindness. Kyung can hardly bear to see them now, much less ask for their help. Yet when an act of violence leaves Jin and Mae unable to live on their own, the dynamic suddenly changes, and he decides to take them in. For the first time in years, the Chos find themselves under the same roof where tensions quickly mount and old resentments rise to the surface.

As Shelter veers swiftly towards its startling conclusion, Jung Yun leads us through dark and violent territory, where, unexpectedly, the Chos discover hope. In the tradition of House of Sand and Fog and The Ice StormShelter is a masterfully crafted first novel that asks what it means to provide for one's family and, in answer, delivers a story as riveting as it is profound.

Genre: Fiction
ISBN: 9781509810529
Published: 06/04/2017

Jung Yun

Jung Yun

Jung Yun is a graduate of the MFA Program in Creative Writing at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. Her work has appeared in Tin HouseThe Best of Tin House: Storiesand The Massachusetts Review. In 2011, her short story 'The Strange Genius of American Men' received an honourable mention for the Pushcart Prize. In 2010, she was awarded an Artist's Fellowship in fiction from the Massachusetts Cultural Council.

View author