• Filter

Rights Success for Picador with Sarah Butler

Tuesday, 03 April 2012

Picador acquired world rights to Ten Things I've Learnt About Love by debut novelist Sarah Butler in February, and we can today announce that a substantial deal has been tied up in the USA and translation rights for nine languages have been sold, with more to follow. 

Pan Macmillan’s Rights Director, Harriet Sanders, has sold North American rights to Andrea Walker at Penguin Press who will publish alongside Picador in spring 2013. Translation rights have already been sold in: 

  • Brazil - Novo Conceito 
  • Denmark - Lindhardt og Ringhof 
  • Germany - Droemer
  • Greece – Klidarithmos
  • Holland - Artemis 
  • Israel - Kinneret 
  • Italy - Garzant 
  • Spain - Duomo 
  • Sweden - Norstedts 


Ten Things I've Learnt About Love
is told in the alternating voices of Alice and Daniel, two very different characters with a surprising connection. For fans of Anne Tyler, Maggie O’Farrell and Sarah Winman, it is a story of fathers and daughters, of lost lovers, of rootlessness and homecoming and the power of the ties that bind.

Picador’s Editorial Director, Francesca Main, comments,

‘This is such a special novel – it is heart-wrenching, original and captivating from the first page. Having written for many years without a publisher, Sarah Butler found herself with a two-book deal and a literary agent within the same week, and now she has foreign publishers signing her up around the world. It’s been a life-changing time for her, not to mention a wonderful time for Picador, and I know we have lots to look forward to.’

Harriet Sanders adds,

‘Just like all of us at Picador, publishers around the world have been bowled over by the quality of Sarah Butler’s writing. Within 24 hours of sending out the manuscript we were receiving offers from publishers and it’s exciting and rewarding to see her distinctive talent recognised internationally.’

The Author

Sarah Butler is in her early thirties and based in London. She runs her own consultancy called Urban Words, which develops literature and arts projects that engage with the process of urban regeneration. She has done various writer-in-residence projects, from stories on the Central Line to a recent residency in Great Ormond Street Hospital to a British Council project in Kuala Lumpur; and has had short stories published widely.

Tuesday, 03 April 2012 by Rosanna Boscawen with 0 comments


Comments
Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.

You need to be a registered member to contribute.

You can login here or sign up now.

Register

Create Account


Login with your social networks

Log in with Facebook

Login

 
Forgotten password?